Photo: Wayne MacPhail was built on the efforts of progressive journalists, writers, artists and activists across the country and has a unique role of reporting on stories from civil society while providing a counterbalance to corporate-owned media. We now get 450,000 visitors monthly, and we are growing. features some of the best new and emerging progressive voices in Canada. You can read, hear and watch them in our original news, opinion, blogs, book, podcast and video sections and on our moderated discussion board. is a registered not-for-profit organization. We rely on the support of individual and organization donors and our sustaining partners. If you would like to support independent journalism you can here.

Our staff and our volunteers make run. Meet them, here, in our bio section.



  • Kim Elliott


  • Judy Rebick

President Emeritus

  • Duncan Cameron


  • Brenda O'Farrell
  • Brian Sharpe
  • Christina Turner
  • Jessica Rose
  • Karl Nerenberg
  • Maya Bhullar
  • Meg Borthwick
  • Michelle Gregus
  • Old Goat
  • Shirley Marquez
  • Sophia Reuss
  • Tania Ehret
  • Victoria Fenner
  • Consensus Enterprises (tech support)

Members' Council Executive Members

  • Matthew Adams (President)
  • Bob Gallagher, USW
  • Robert Lamoureux, CUPE
  • Nicole Johnson (Treasurer)

Members'  Council

  • Alexandra Samur
  • Amira Elghawaby
  • Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
  • CUPW
  • Domenic Bellissimo, OSSTF
  • Elizabeth Ballerman, NUPGE
  • Fred Wilson, Council of Canadians
  • Jerry Toews, HSAA
  • Kathleen Monk
  • Kevin Milsip
  • Larry Brown, NUPGE
  • Maya Bhullar, rabble Toolkit Coordinator
  • Morna Ballanytne, PSAC
  • Shannon Devine
  • Trina James, The Canadian Federation of Students
  • Tria Donaldson
  • Vivian McCaffrey, ETFO
  • Wayne MacPhail